top of page

Acerca de



Madonna-Grad Mass 2019-35.jpg

Higher Learning Commission

Madonna University receives its institutional accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The HLC accredits degree-granting postsecondary educational institutions in the North Central region of the United States and thereby grants membership in the Commission.

Strategic Plan

Madonna University’s plans for the next 20 years of higher education. The University has designed a comprehensive assessment plan that measures and reports on student achievement as part of this process. Approval by accrediting agencies and professional organizations exist at international, national, regional, and state levels. These organizations have varying cycles of review that can be anywhere from one to 10 years.

Learn more about Madonna Accreditation here.

The following is a list of approvals and accreditation:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

  • Accreditation for the University as a whole: 1959, 1968, 1978, 1982 (Graduate Education) 1988, 1998, 2004 (merger with St. Mary's College), 2008, 2018

Accreditation Council for Business Schools & Programs (ACBSP)

Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND)

  • Accreditation: 2000, 2010, 2020

American Bar Association (ABA):

  • 1984, 1990, 1994, 2000, 2007, 2013

American Dietetic Association (ADA)

  • Approvals: Plan IV, 1977, 1982; Plan V, 1990, 1995

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

  • Accreditation: 2006 (graduate and undergraduate), 2010 (graduate, undergraduate, and DNP)

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)

  • Formerly National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE): 1972, 1981, 1992, 1996, 2002, 2009, 2016

Council on Social Work Education:

  • 1982, 1988, 1995, 2003, 2011 (undergraduate), 2018 (graduate)

Forensic Sciences Education Programs Accreditation Commission (FEPAC):

  • (undergraduate), 2014, 2019

Michigan Board of Education

  • Approval of four-year degrees: 1947

Michigan Board of Nursing:

  • 1967

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education:

  • 1972, 1981, 1992, 1996, 2002, 2009

National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission (NLNAC), 1970, 1978, 1984, 1992, 1993, 1999 (undergraduate and graduate)

Note: Accreditation materials are available for review in the Madonna University Library. Students, faculty, staff, and members of the public wishing to submit a complaint about Madonna University to the HLC can do so by the formal process highlighted on the HLC website.

For submitting a complaint to the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Department about Madonna University, please visit

bottom of page